I am so excited for the 16th of this month! We will finally have our photo shoot and get going on the cover for Prince of Light. It pays to know an actual photographer, let me tell you. My awesome friend, Alycia, who owns Echo Photography Studios, graciously offered to take pics of my brother’s girlfriend, who also graciously agreed to pose for the cover of my book. We’re still working on costume ideas, but I’m sure we’ll be able to figure out something. As soon as Alycia can get the photos up and running, I’ll be able to start playing around with Photoshop, something I absolutely LOVE to do.

I am still torn about a background for the cover. Dare I just keep it black and let the photo of the main character say it all? Or do I put something medieval and mysterious back there? So many decisions, my brain is about ready to implode. I’ve pored through dozens of Photoshop tutorial sites, some of which had the most amazing photos/effects I think I’ve ever seen. I know that I won’t really be able to envision the cover until I see the pictures for myself, but I’m really chomping at the bit here.

An enticing cover is a lot of pressure, to be honest. I mean, I’m “competing” against actual graphic designers. Paid by big publishers to make things look good. I mean, really, who wouldn’t want to read something like this? Or this? Or any of these, for that matter? I haven’t read any one of these in particular, but I want to. The covers are that slam-banging made of awesome.

What I secretly hope for is to see if I get some awesome fan-art once my story is available online. I love fan-art. I could peruse Deviantart for hours looking at all the amazing artwork. (Can anyone say Prince Nuada? Rowr. Pardon me while I wipe the drool from my keyboard.) Since he was part of the inspiration for my own elfin prince, I can’t help but feel fondly towards him. And Link.

Summer cannot come soon enough, that’s for certain.

2 thoughts on “

  1. I totally bought Entwined for its cover art. Heh heh.

    Also, I *love* Divergent’s cover!

    Excited to see your progress on what already promises to be a great cover!

Leave a comment